Social Media Novice

I am a social media novice.

I’m slowly being drawn in as the excitement and realization of its potential grows; just like my Klout score is rising.
(Don’t quite understand Peer Index yet, but I’m sure I will do shortly. As for Empire Avenue – do I want to go there yet?).

I’m sure for all you SM gurus out there, it’s a distant memory familiarizing yourself with the intricacies of twitter and blogging and its all now part of your daily routine. But …

  • where do you start?
  • what do you do?
  • how do you discipline yourself?
  • and how do you decide what’s important and what’s not?
  • what does #ff mean?
  • And just what is sofalising?

Admittedly, it hasn’t take too long to understand tweeting, however for the anyone new to twitter I’d recommend Jon Reed’s Twitter Cheat Sheet; it’s great for fundamentals.
I would also recommend Peter Masters there is plenty of good advice here and follow on @marketingm8 to where Peter practices what he preaches.  You’ll learn a lot; I’m just about to buffer my tweets

However for me it’s been a fascinating month

  • observing
  • procrastinating
  • reading
  • learning
  • connecting … and
  • even more procrastinating

The brilliant Paul Weston at Essex Social Media got me started; I’d recommend speaking to Paul if you want some advice. He gave me some clear direction and blogging is all part of his advice. He made sure I knew what I wanted from social media and I’ll share my principal aim with you now. I want to learn how I can use social media as part of my role as lecturer on the Construction Studies courses at the University of Westminster. The benefits are already clear and I’m really looking forward to using it to good effect next year.

I have already made some really good connections – thanks everyone – and I encourage you to follow me as I endeavour to do more than my bit* educating future professionals on a sustainable construction industry.

Looking forward to more learning, connecting and sofalising but less procrastinating …

Thanks for reading
Rob

*Do more than my bit; my next blog on moving towards a sustainable world

2 thoughts on “Social Media Novice

  1. Hi Rob, thanks for dropping by my Blog, I thought it polite to return the favour!

    I would recommend getting the ‘sexybookmark’ plug in and getting more connected, this will encourage people to share your posts!

    PeerIndex is much the same as Klout and a new concept is Hoverme Hovercard from designer Ed Orcutt from the USA. There;s much more info and some links on my Blog or just Google them and you’ll find out more.

    When I first started Blogging I was apprehensive and it does take a while to find your ‘voice’ and decide what niche you want to focus on. If I can be of help at any time, please just let me know.

    Good luck, the hardest part on any journey is always the 1st step and you’re over that now, the only way is up.

    Get into reading lots of other Blogs, join communities and forums, BizSugar, Blokube and Facebook groups are a great start!

    All the best, Peter

    • Peter

      That’s truly great advice; much appreciated.

      I’ve been trying to upload the ‘sexybookmark’ plug in and been told I use wordpress.co. not wordpress.org and I can’t use the plugin. Is this true?

      Rob

Leave a comment